jump to navigation

Ramblings on the Personal Cloud November 18, 2012

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Cloud Computing, Trends.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Changing of the terms – Life in the cloud will redefine many things as we go forward. One technical term that will change is PC. We all know that PC initially was defined as personal computer. That is the accepted 1.0 definition. For the 2.0 version, it stands for personal cloud. This is the third and final post of the technology trends I am watching this year.  Previous posts covered big data and cloud computing.

The modern internet provides many cloud (or, web hosted) services that are easily  personalized to satisfy our our needs. One example is Google Docs. Storing documents in the cloud makes them accessible from multiple devices. Another cloud-based service is Dropbox. These and the multiple others like them store information in the cloud as opposed to a local or hard drive or internal network folder. Cloud services make it very easy to share information – send the URL. An added benefit is sharing the URL does not clog up your email in-box with lots of attachements. Many reliable cloud services are free and the subscription fee-based services provide additional capability.

I like life in the cloud and have had my personal cloud for some time now. The convenience of accessing a file from multiple devices is a wonderful thing. Sharing data with family and colleagues is easy and quick – simply provide the URL.

I submit that the personal cloud has a major impact for owners of tablets and smartphones. Where a home or work computer can store information locally on a hard drive, tablets and smartphones have limited storage space. Using the cloud for storage makes this a non-issue.

How is your personal cloud? Do you use these services without thinking about it? Will it change where you store/share information?

Comments»

1. Search Engine Ranking - December 5, 2012

I am genuinely glad to glance at this web site posts which includes tons of
valuable information, thanks for providing such information.

Edwin Ritter - December 15, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the post.

2. Javier - December 6, 2012

I need to to thank you for this very good read!
! I definitely loved every bit of it. I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new things you post…

3. Black Hat SEO - December 8, 2012

Black Hat SEO…

Ramblings on the Personal Cloud « Ritter’s Ruminations…

4. aimoo.com - December 11, 2012

Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back
often!

Edwin Ritter - December 15, 2012

Thanks – I hope you do come back. Look forward to your future comments.

5. piracetam - December 14, 2012

Of course, your own “computer” in the cloud is very much what Google wants to do with Chrome OS.Naturally, though, Google would control that computer a far sight more than what MM is suggesting with his personal cloud computers.I wonder if they’ll bridge that gap or if someone will make a simpler and better product once they break the dam.

Edwin Ritter - December 15, 2012

It is always interesting to watch how trends like this evolve. We will see Google’s strategy unfold going forward and what impact that has to the cloud.

6. parliament cigarettes - December 15, 2012

Hello, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

Edwin Ritter - December 19, 2012

Thanks!

7. Viral adsorption - December 16, 2012

I’m curious to find out what blog system you happen to be using? I’m having some minor security issues with my latest site and
I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any recommendations?

Edwin Ritter - December 19, 2012

I gratefully use the services provided by the folks at WordPress. Very happy with them.


Leave a Reply

