jump to navigation

Ruminations on processing in the cloud October 14, 2012

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Cloud Computing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Among the technology trends this year, I am focused on three in particular. I have previously covered big data. In an upcoming post, I wil look at the personal cloud. This post talks about mobile devices and the BYOD phenomenon. The term stands for “Bring Your Own Device”. At work, we increasingly use our smart phones to access applications, email and stay in sync. The big assumption here of course is that your IT department can support this. Any time, any place – tracking your calendar updates for meetings, checking email, updating wikis all can be performed easily via your smart phone. For road warriors, using your existing smart phone is now routine. Office workers are realizing the advantages of being able to access data outside the office as well.

This infographic shows a few ways how this trend is being used. There are real advantages with BYOD – here are a few.
A reduction in the hardware cost is one. Having the employees upgrade to the latest smarthphone, tablet, laptop, etc. eliminates a lot of cost for the organization. The devices are omni-present; the data is constantly available. You are engaged and in touch more often.

Policy changes are part of this phenomena. IT will typically require secure network access. Once you connect to the internal network, you are on your own. Remember your credentials and keep them secure.

After that, enjoy and keep your device charger handy and let the cloud process for you.

Comments»

1. Edwin Ritter - November 14, 2012

Just a quick update on this topic – I recently saw on the news that it is important to understand the impact of privacy with personal devices used for work. Read the fine print on the terms and conditions. If there is an issue, your employer may have the right to look at your smartphone, tablet, laptop. Not just what is work related, all the data. Caveat emptor.

2. Ramblings on the Personal Cloud « Ritter's Ruminations & Ramblings - November 18, 2012

[…] Changing of the terms – Life in the cloud will redefine many things as we go forward. One technical term that will change is PC. We all know that PC initially was defined as personal computer. That is accepted 1.0 definition. For the 2.0 version, it stands for personal cloud. This is the third and final post of the technology trends I am watching this year.  Previous posts covered big data and cloud computing. […]

3. Susannah - November 30, 2012

Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening
in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then
that, fantastic blog!

Edwin Ritter - November 30, 2012

Hi Susannah,
Thanks for viewing the post (in several browsers, even) and taking the time to post your comment. Sorry you had problems viewing the blog. I don’t see that when I use IE. Worpress is king enough to host this for me so I’m not sure what the issue could be. Do you have an old version of the browser perhaps?

4. Ramblings on robots « Ritter's Ruminations & Ramblings - February 3, 2013

[…] The topic of robots and automating work via machines has gotten a bit of ink lately. In the last month, I have read several articles on how robots will replace humans. Perhaps you’ve seen them also. The premise, or promise, is that machines will replace many of the tasks currently done by humans. A recent issue of Wired has robots as their cover story titled Better Than Human. The question is not if, but more of when, robots will replace people for many of the jobs that exist today. The major assumption is that it will create new jobs for us carbon-based life forms. The impact with machines used instead of people to perform a task is also connected to big data and cloud computing. […]

5. Rambling on reaching 4 year blog milestone | Ritter's Ruminations & Ramblings - March 16, 2013

[…] of interest that I expect to ruminate further on  include big data and cloud computing. New topics will be found to ramble on about naturellement. I look forward to learning and posting […]

6. wordpress tutorial video - May 30, 2013

Hey would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded
your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
Thank you, I appreciate it!

Edwin Ritter - May 31, 2013

Thanks for your comments – I am glad that you enjoy the blog. I have been happily using the wordpress.com site for free with this blog. Go to their web site for details. Good luck and I hope you find something that fits your needs.

7. green coffee bean extract side effects - June 7, 2013

My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought
I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

Edwin Ritter - June 8, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the post. Come back again and I look forward to more comments.

8. Judith - August 29, 2013

This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am genuinely impressed
to read everthing at single place.

Edwin Ritter - August 29, 2013

Thanks, Judith
Appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Glad you find my blog interesting – come back again.

9. personal - February 20, 2014

Excellent blog post. I absolutely appreciate this website.
Continue the good work!

Edwin Ritter - February 20, 2014

Appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to visit and comment.


Leave a Reply

