jump to navigation

You can help me, a few ramblings on how. October 22, 2011

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Trends.
Tags: , ,
trackback

We are all social animals at heart. Whether it is in the physical world or online, we interact with others constantly. We give and receive help with one another as part of the social fabric. Some people are more helpful than others. It makes us feel good about ourselves helping our fellow man (or, woman). For those less helpful people (you know who you are), I’d like to describe a few scenarios how you can help me.
Helpful ramblings :

  • When driving, use your turn signal *before* you make a turn. If I am behind you, it does not help me when you use your blinker while you are turning. It does help if you signal before making a lane change. Put on your blinker, let it blink 3 times, then change lanes. Also, blink, then brake in general – much safer for all of us.
  • Put your shopping cart on the side of the aisle in the market. While I do not shop much, it is annoying to have to walk around your unattended cart parked in the middle of the aisle. Next time, I may move it to an undisclosed location.
  • When staying at a hotel, please dress for breakfast. I do not want to see you walking through the lobby in your PJs and slippers. This applies to all ages. Not cute and I was surprised that the hotel staff took no action.
  • When your car is covered by snow, clean off the windows and roof. Your visibility is limited when you don’t brush off your car. It is also lazy and unsafe and driving fast is not an effective to ‘clean off’ your car. Spend $3 for a snow brush and use it. For SUV and minvan owners – buy a brush with a longer handle. They have them – I know b/c I have one.
  • When you send me an email, tweet, YouTube vid or LI update, please minimize the hype. What you may think is the neatest, most innovative and life changing announcement, it might be a yawner for me. State the facts and avoid the hyperbole trap where you over promise and under deliver.
  • If you forgot to wear your boots or take your lunch, spare me the tweet about it. Tell me instead how you improvised – that is more interesting. Ditto for coffee and breakfast runs. Unless your getting one for me or asking me to pay, I don’t care.
  • When you sneeze or cough, cover your mouth. Practice the ‘Dracula’ sneeze (crook your arm and sneeze into it).  During a recent bus trip, the Bus Driver had a nice way of stating this: “Don’t be a pig, cover your mouth.”

I could go on but I don’t want to rant. There are other topics for sure, (as in extremes in casual dress) but I expect that by this point you get the idea.

On the flip side, if I can help you better – tell me. We are all in this together, let’s be helpful out there.

Comments»

1. gratis wetten - November 18, 2011

gratiswetten
Thanks for your contribution and I will use it for my college research that I am doing for this website.

Edwin Ritter - November 28, 2011

Glad you find this useful. I am interested in how can you use this?


Leave a Reply

