jump to navigation

On Social Media – Who is a expert? June 2, 2009

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Trends.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Everybody’s talkin at me about Social Media (SM). I’ve seen all good people with lots of posts and tweets about SM ‘experts’ lately. Tangents to songs come to mind here and a nod to Neilson and Yes; but I digress.

At first, I thought there are experts, are there? Well, now. Bully for them. Then it occurred to me that no, they aren’t. No one is yet. Perhaps, they are farther along the learning curve than others but not an expert (yet). Don’t be fooled by anyone who labels themselves a SM expert – not there yet.  In the true sense of community, we are all learning together. We glean tips and tricks from each other, help define what is & is not  accepted practice. That’s the fun part about this time, eh? Guiding, shaping and otherwise helping define how we interact and ultimately what are cultural norms. We’re making history. OK, deep breath. Goos-fraba.

I read Malcolm Gladwell’s most recent book,  ‘Outliers’,  a while ago. In it, he defines being an expert via the 10K hour rule. The rule states that to achieve the status of expert in any given topic, it is accepted that you spend 10,000 hours working on a particular skill.

Thus far, there are no Social Media experts because of the time constraint. Do the math. Even if someone spends 3000 hours a year on SM, it would take more than 3 years to reach such expert status. 

I’m not an SM expert and neither are you. We may be someday, once we hit 10K hours. In the meantime, we help each other learn, share, agree on many things and dis-agree on others. Willing to listen; happy to discuss.

Comments»

1. Deborah Mourey - June 3, 2009

Ed, good post, I agree. I attended a luncheon and the speaker had been blogging for over 5 years. He said that he is not an expert and that no one could be because “It’s all evolving.”

In the meantime, we help each other learn, share, agree on many things and dis-agree on others. Willing to listen; happy to discuss. AMEN

Edwin Ritter - June 4, 2009

Deb,
The phrase “None of us is as smart as all of us” comes to mind here. Thanks for continuning the conversation – we will raise the level of common knowledge together!

2. khkremer - June 7, 2009

Ed, I agree, there are no experts in the SM area yet. What we have are the one eyed leading the blind. I’ve been on the Internet before it was cool, I’ve been blogging before it was called blogging, but I’m certainly not an expert. I can teach you, I can give you my perspective on things, but at the end, I don’t know much more about what exactly SM is than somebody signing up for a Facebook account today. We are creating and shaping what SM is now.

Edwin Ritter - June 9, 2009

Could be semantics here as I think you are referencing knowledge vs. expertise. Your level of knowledge is certainly higher than a newbie. And, I agree we will shape what the SM future is – we already are doing so everyday by being active in the space.

3. Karl Heinz Kremer - June 9, 2009

No, really, I don’t know much – I make it up as I go, and I’m just very good as BS’ing 🙂
When I say “not much more” – I was trying to make the point that there still is so much we need to learn, so much we cannot even learn today because the SM are is not stable enough yet. We don’t even know what we don’t know yet…

4. Greg Taylor - June 10, 2009

I don’t know any experts. I can identify teachers – they share for greater good and further learning; students – they ask for greater understanding; and the clueless. The clueless may consider themselves experts or might be considered by their clueless compadres as such. Then there is that huge crowd of disinterested – they watch reality TV…and the world goes forward or backward. It depends which way you are facing.


Leave a Reply

