jump to navigation

Spoiling the Journey April 29, 2009

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Miscellaneous.
trackback

There are many effects on using the web to stay current on that which interest us. One of those is being able to find out thing quickly. Like now. I just read an article that talks about the ‘Age of Immediacy’. A good term actually and one you can relate to quickly. We all know the Stone Age, Ice Age, Industrial Age. Now we have the Immediacy Age.

The main point of the piece was how we now want ‘spoilers’. We want the answer. Now is the time, I don’t want to wait; spoon feed me. Our attention span is getting shorter.  It’s not about the journey, it’s about the result. The web makes getting the answer easy.  No more hassle, just google it.

Too bad. I think the journey is the point. You learn much about yourself, others and the topic of interest when you are vested in it. Spending time and energy, pursuing the information scent, analyzing clues, sorting the useful from the worthless. All good. Makes the effort worthwhile when you arrive and provides a of accomplishment that is earned.

Of course, we can all rationalize jumping ahead and using a spoiler can’t we? I need this. Just  this once. Really. I’ve done that.

Reminds me of  the  Robert Frost poem “The Road not Taken

For him it made all the difference.

That’s not to say I won’t seek help. But that is different. I will try leave the journey unspoiled and it might make a difference for me.

Comments»

1. Alexis - May 11, 2009

I fight with your second paragraph EVERY period of EVERY day at work. Not only are WE as adults demanding to be spoon fed but we are teaching our children the same thing. The attention span of my average class gets shorter daily as I jump through hoops to keep their attention. Is it possible that it is my fault for meeting their needs? Am I in turn diminishing their attention spans even more by conducting a class like I just had 3 cups of espresso?

Your line about being spoon fed is still resonating with me. If it is not given to us, how are we supposed to get it?

Imagine what our forefathers would do in today’s age. Imagine forming the United States Government and Tweeting about it every step of the way…..


Leave a Reply

