jump to navigation

Going to the Fair April 22, 2009

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Miscellaneous.
Tags:
trackback

I had an interesting afternoon while attending a Career Fair here in town. Employers and recruiters were there.  The nursery rhyme pops in my head about the birds and the beasts and baboon combing his hair – but I digress.

To me, this was informal and low key. Many companies had a table staffed with people to talk to.  It had many people attending but you could visit your targeted companies easily.

The routine of what to do at these things is quickly learned. Line up, make your pitch, provide a copy of your resume and business card, Thank them for their time and on to the next. When there is a long line, you ask someone at the end, “Are you waiting to speak with ABC Company?” Spent some time in one of those – even tweeted about it.

You meet some interesting people at these events. That may sound snarky or a back-handed compliment. I don’t mean that in a snobbish type way at all. What is interesting is that instead of reading about the statistics of people attending that are looking for work, I am now one of the statistics.  That changes your perspective to know how many others are in the same situation.

I’m optimistic that I and others, will get a new job. Good skills, perseverance and timing will prevail I’m sure. I have marketable skills combined with knowledge that not may others have. So, I got that going for me, which is nice. Plus, a good network of contacts pulling for me and then there is eternal happiness in the after-life.

 

Keep moving forward and begin the day with a friendly voice.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

