jump to navigation

Ramblings on positive change September 22, 2013

Posted by Edwin Ritter in Behavior, career.
Tags: ,
trackback

Since my last post, I have gone through some changes. Changes in employment and changes in location. It came about fairly quickly, now that I have some time to reflect on it. I recently found a position as a project manager and am part of a web development group once again.

Life-Change

I am fortunate to have so many good people in my life. My family has been 100% supportive. I have great friends who wished me well and their help is only a phone call or email away. I have but to ask. That support makes the transition much easier.

Taking this new job required relocating out of state. Not something I had intended initially. For many reasons outside of my control, the job I wanted was not available locally. I have been solicited to work in many areas around the country but held out for an opportunity that was in my home town. Keep the other aspects of my life the same. Did not work out that way this time around. Over the last 5 years, I have had several career changes. Most of those were outside my control in terms of duration.

change_exitAs for the work, it feels good to be back in many ways. Good to be working again. Good to be with an IT team that works closely with Marketing.  Like any new job, it takes some time to get settled. Get up to speed. Learn the ropes. More shop worn cliches. There are some interesting challenges ahead. I firmly expect to have an impact and be able to help my new team. I already know they will listen. That makes things so much easier. In my first week, I have already established my skills and experience. Here the biggest change is people are willing to accept it. That has not always been true in the past.

Going forward, more changes will be dealt with. In both the personal and professional facets, I will have good people to work through any and all changes that come my way.

I am most grateful for that and hope that never changes!

Comments»

1. Alex - September 22, 2013

Congrats on the new position! Moving is never easy, but you did what you needed to do!

Edwin Ritter - September 23, 2013

Thanks, Alex It gets better every day. I have lots of company as there are many others that are commuting on this scale. A sign of the times that is more commonplace. Have a great Monday!

2. Arthur Catalanello - September 23, 2013

Best of luck with the new gig Ed! I’m sure we’ll keep in touch via social media. Let me know if I can be of assistance remotely. :-)

Edwin Ritter - September 23, 2013

Thank, Arthur
It’s a bit like coming home again…but different. A good start so far. I will let you know if I need anything – appreciate your offer!

3. Blog Milestone – 5 years and counting | Ritter's Ruminations & Ramblings - April 16, 2014

[…] Positive Change […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

